Travel

Haven of Peace in Évora

Ah! Évora... What can I say? Every destination in Portugal has left me speechless. The landscape is simply dazzling, regardless of the region and will provide you with moments of indescribable happiness. Evora, as for her, has that je ne sais quoi so particular that soothes and transports us, allowing us to reach an emotion of pure joy. This city, capital of the District of Evora, located in the charming rural and wine-growing region of Alentejo, was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1986 for its historical and architectural wealth. Possessing Roman origins adding to its charm, Évora is a true book of Portuguese art history and certainly one of the most beautiful cities in the country. Here is some information to know before going there.

What to see?
The Roman temple of Évora, also called the temple of Diana, is certainly a symbol of the city to be discovered. Classified as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, it is remarkably well preserved and bears witness to the importance of the city in Roman times. Its restored appearance and lustre make it an undeniable historical gem that should be on your list of attractions to visit.

The imposing Basilica of Our Lady of the Assumption Cathedral in Évora is also worth seeing. Combining Romanesque, Gothic, Plateresque and Baroque architecture, it allows us to travel between the periods that marked its evolution. Striking vaulted ceilings, meticulously detailed rosettes, a Gothic cloister and a masterful central nave, this cathedral has something to impress whether you are Catholic or not.

When to visit beautiful Évora?
April is the ideal month to discover this beautiful city with its undeniable charm, and I'm not just saying this because I went there during this period. In summer, the sun burns the exuberant and colourful nature of the region and the rather stifling temperature prevents you from fully appreciating the beauty of the city.

Where to stay?
The Casa do Governador is the accommodation I can definitely recommend. The place is heavenly and I would have spent weeks there. This hostel has a considerable cachet and as soon as you cross the threshold of its entrance, you begin a journey back in time. The charm of the place is indisputable; Casa do Governador offers guaranteed comfort, a lovely decor and a friendly atmosphere. Guests are smiling and warm-hearted. The grounds are spacious and exceptionally quiet. Poppies are sprouting here and there, near a makeshift swing that has been hung on a tree branch. A coffee table allowing us to have lunch overlooks a simply breathtaking landscape. Olive trees and fields as far as the eye can see are waiting for you.

Evora, charming and extraordinarily restored, must be visited during your trip to Portugal. Whitish houses with bright yellow accents, incredible landscapes, rich history and culture... Escape and discover the magnificent Evora.

 

Photo credit: https://www.wanderingwagars.com/day-trip-evora-portugal/

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

English (Canada)
Français English (Canada)
Pin

Voyage

Un havre de paix à Évora

Ah! Évora… Que dire? Chaque destination du Portugal m’a laissée bouche bée. Le paysage est tout simplement éblouissant et ce, peu importe la région et saura vous procurer des instants de bonheurs tout à fait indescriptibles. Evora, quant à elle, possède ce je ne sais quoi si particulier qui nous apaise et nous transporte, nous permettant d’atteindre une émotion de joie à l’état pur. Cette ville, chef-lieu du District d’Évora, situé dans la charmante région rurale et viticole de l’Alentejo, fut classée au Patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO en 1986 en raison de sa richesse historique et architecturale. Possédant des origines romaines ajoutant à son charme, Évora est un véritable livre d’histoire de l’art portugais et certainement une des plus belles citées du pays. Voici quelques informations à savoir avant de s’y rendre.

Que voir?
Le temple romain d’Évora, aussi appelé le temple de Diane est assurément un symbole de la ville à découvrir. Classé au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, celui-ci est remarquablement bien conservé et témoigne de l’importance de la ville à l’époque romaine. Son allure restaurée et son lustre en font un bijou historique indéniable qui devra se retrouver dans votre liste d’attractions à visiter.

La cathédrale basilique Notre-Dame-de-l’Assomption d’Évora, imposante et luxuriante, est à voir elle aussi. Alliant architecture romane, gothique, plateresque et baroque, elle nous permet de voyager entre les époques qui ont marqué son évolution. Plafonds voûtés saisissants, rosaces aux détails minutieux, cloître gothique et nef centrale magistrale, cette cathédrale a de quoi impressionner, que vous soyez catholique ou non.

Quand visiter la belle Évora?
Avril est le mois idéal pour partir à la découverte de cette superbe ville au charme incontestable et je ne dis pas cela seulement parce que c’est durant cette période que j’y suis allée. En été, le soleil vient brûler la nature exubérante et colorée de la région et la température plutôt étouffante empêche d’apprécier pleinement la beauté de la ville.

Où séjourner?
La Casa do Governador est l’hébergement que je vous recommande à coup sûr. L’endroit est paradisiaque et j’y aurais passé des semaines. Cette auberge possède un cachet considérable et dès que l’on traverse le seuil de son entrée, on commence un voyage dans le temps. Le charme de la place est indiscutable; Casa do Governador propose un confort assuré, un décor adorable et une ambiance conviviale. Les hôtes sont souriants et chaleureux. Le terrain, quant à lui, est spacieux et d’un calme exceptionnel. Les coquelicots jaillissent çà et là, près d’une balançoire de fortune que l’on a accrochée à une branche d’arbre. Une table basse nous permettant de prendre le déjeuner donne sur un paysage tout simplement à couper le souffle. Oliviers et champs à perte de vue vous attendent.

Evora, charmante et restaurée de manière extraordinaire, se doit d’être visitée lors de votre voyage au Portugal. Maisons blanchâtres aux accents de jaune éclatant, paysages incroyables, histoire et culture riche… Évadez-vous et découvrez la magnifique Évora.

 

crédit photo: https://www.wanderingwagars.com/day-trip-evora-portugal/

Vous aimerez peut-être

Aucun commentaire

Laissez un commentaire

Français
English (Canada) Français
Enregistrer